Demon Clan – Demon King and The Ten Commandments | Nanatsu no Taizai

Sate Sate Sate, I am sure you have been watching the short-season anime Nanatsu no Taizai: Immashime no Fukkatsu. And if you do, you probably have many doubts about the mighty and badass Demon Clan. The truth about the demon clan is yet to unfold, and the whole clan itself along with The Demon King and The Ten Commandments is a dark mystery except for a few facts and some potential plot stories.

Here at Epic Dope, I have tried to extract as much information as possible, that has been revealed in the anime up until now about the Demon Clan. The data is only from anime, so you need not worry about any spoilers.

Demon Clan

Not much has been revealed about the Demon Clan yet. Demon Clan exists in the world of Nanatsu no Taizai. It consists of monstrous beasts who feed upon souls of other species and have powers enveloped in darkness. Around 3000 years ago, Demon Clan waged Holy War against the Goddess Clan, Fairy Clan, Giant Clan, and Humans.  They were defeated and sealed in the Coffin of Eternal Darkness. However Fraudrin, a commandment managed to get away and survived for 3000 years with only one goal to revive the demon clan yet again.

Demon King

Demon King is the highest-ranked demon and the ruler of the Demon Clan. He resides in hell and has not made his debut in the anime yet. But he is known to be a man who believes in his principles even if they are evil. He is the father of the most powerful demons, Meliodas, Estarossa, and Zeldris.  He is known to have high regards for his clan and has himself handpicked The Ten Commandments to become the strongest warriors.

The Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments is the group of ten strongest warriors of the Demon Clan. They have sealed away along with the other members after their leader’s betrayal. Each member of the group has a unique power gifted to them by the demon king. The unique ability is known as a commandment, which makes them the representatives of the Demon Clan.

The creation of the commandments is itself a mystery. But, it is believed that The Demon King wanted to protect The Demon Clan by giving someone else half of his powers. But to secure his position, he divided half of his powers into ten, small yet potent fragments. Each fragment was bestowed upon the ten strongest warriors known as The Ten Commandments of The Demon Clan.

The current members of the Ten Commandments are:

Estarossa, Commandment of Love

Derieri, Commandment of Purity

Melascula, Commandment of Faith

Drole, Commandment of Patience

Fraudrin, Commandment of Selflessness

Gloxinia, Commandment of Repose

Grayroad, Commandment of Pacifism

Monspeet, Commandment of Reticence

Zeldris, Commandment of Piety

Fraudrin and Estarossa succeeded Gowther and Meliodas as the new members of the Commandments after their betrayal. Also, there is no current Commandment of Truth since Galand was defeated by Escanor, Lion’s Sin of Pride.

Powers of some commandment members have also been revealed so far in the anime.


Estarossa is the middle son of the king of the Demon Clan and one of its strongest warrior. His commandment is Commandment of Love, anybody who stands before him with hatred in his heart is rendered powerless. He’s also a master of the ability Full Counter. Unlike Meliodas’ full counter, his’ can repel any physical attacks, no matter how powerful they are.


Galand is the oldest(by age) member of The Ten Commandments, and a powerful demon of the Demon Clan. Galand had physical prowess that made Diane, Serpent’s Sin of Envy look like a tiny little ant. His commandment is the commandment of Truth, anybody who stands before him and knowingly lies is turned to stone. He had turned to stone himself when he lied to Escanor.


Grayroad is a mutated Gray Demon, making her one of a kind even among the Demon Clan. Fraudrin refers to Grayroad as a female; however, her actual gender is still unknown. Her commandment is Commandment of Pacifism, which is unique. Anyone who kills in her presence will have their time stolen from them and rapidly age until they die.


Melascula is a prominent member of the Ten Commandments and has high proud in her powers. She believes that there is no one even in this universe that does not have even a shred of faithlessness in their hearts. Her commandment is the Commandment of Faith. Anybody who stands before her with treachery in his heart will have his soul stolen. Her pride was broken when Ban broke her commandment by displaying undeniable faith for Meliodas.


Fraudrin is an another one of a kind demon among the members of Demon Clan. No one has seen his actual body as he’s shown to reside in the shape of Holy Knight Dreyfus. The exact powers of his commandment are still unknown. It leads to losing memories and entire self of a person who has feelings of greed and selfishness.


Zeldris is one of the highest-ranking demons of Demon Clan. He’s the youngest son of Demon King and is powerful enough to block and defense against Meliodas at the same time. He’s the current leader of The Ten Commandments and has the Commandment of Piety. Anybody who turns his back against Zeldris is treated as committing an act of betrayal and is cursed into serving the Demon King, and as extension Zeldris himself.

Pin It on Pinterest