How to Watch Macross anime? Easy Watch Order Guide

Macross is quite literally a series that spreads out over a vast period.

It is the tale of humanity over several generations, exploring several inter-galactic wars, the romances of many young souls, and the nostalgia of a world lost after too much of technological advancement.

Being a mecha anime, it has massive machine battles that take place on a colossal scale with breathtakingly beautiful spacecraft and space jets.

Watch Order Guide To The Macross Franchise
Marcosss | Source: Amazon

The addition of the personal stories of people and societies makes the stories more realistic and the characters more believable.

If you love anime like Gundam and the Legend of the Galactic Heroes, you’ll definitely enjoy Macross!

1. Release Order

I. TV Series

  • Super Dimension Fortress Macross (1982)
  • Macross 7 (1994)
  • Macross F (2008)
  • Macross Delta (2016)

II. Movies

  • Macross: Do You Remember Love? (1984)
  • Macross 7 Movie: Ginga ga Ore wo Yondeiru! (1995)
  • Macross Plus Movie Edition (1995)
  • Macross Frontier: The False Songstress (2009)
  • Macross F Movie 2: Sayonara no Tsubasa (2011)
  • Macross FB7: Ore no Uta wo Kike! (2012)
  • Macross Delta Movie: Gekijou no Walküre (2018)


  • Macross Flash Back 2012 (1987)          
  • Macross II: Lovers Again (1992)
  • Macross Plus (1994)
  • Macross 7 Encore (1995)
  • Macross Dynamite 7 (1997)
  • Macross Zero (2002)
  • Macross F: Choujikuu Gekijou (2011)

IV. Specials

  • Macross 7 Plus (1995)
  • Mini-Chara Macross (2002)
  • Macross XX (2002)
  • Macross F: Close Encounter – Deculture Edition (2007)
  • Macross F: Close Encounter – Broadcast Edition (2007)
  • Macross F Music Clip Shuu: Nyankuri (2010)
  • Macross Frontier: Sayonara no Tsubasa Epilogue (2011)
  • Macross Delta: Delta Shougekijou (2016)

2. Chronological Order

  • Macross Zero
  • Super Dimension Fortress Macross
  • Macross: Do You Remember Love?
  • Macross: Flashback 2012
  • Macross Plus
  • Macross Plus Movie Edition
  • Macross 7
  • Macross 7: Encore 
  • Macross 7 the Movie: The Galaxy’s Calling Me!
  • Macross Dynamite 7 
  • Macross F
  • Macross Frontier: The False Songstress 
  • Macross Frontier 2: Sayonara no Tsubasa
  • Macross FB 7 
  • Macross Delta
  • Macross II: Lovers Again

3. How to Get Into Macross/ Where To Start?

The best place to start Macross is its first installment, Super Dimension Fortress Macross (1982).

Watch Order Guide To The Macross Franchise
Macross Cover | Source: IMDb

The series is a great introduction to the franchise with beautiful vintage animation and a well-paced plot.

The series will also help you determine whether or not you’d enjoy the franchise as a whole since the themes explored in Super Dimension Fortress Macross recur in many other parts as well.

4. Conclusion

The recommended order for watching the Macross is its chronological order. You can watch Macross (1982) before watching Macross Zero since it was the first addition to the Macross series.

Most of the parts are standalone, set at different times in the same universe.

Macross 30th Anniversary Trailer

The OVAs and Specials that are not listed in the chronological order are optional and can be skipped.

5. About Macross

Macross is a science fiction mecha anime created by Studio Nue and Artland in 1982.

The franchise focuses on a fictional history of Earth and humanity. It is set after the year 1999.

The series includes how humans developed technologically as well as the interactions between aliens and humans in the Milky Way.

Earth under a united government, transformer-like where humans can change into jets and space jets, transportation or space folds are some of the common concepts used in Macross.

There are also elements of romance, coming-of-age, nostalgia, culture shock, and capitalism in the show.


Leave a Reply