Anime Ikki Tousen Watch Order

How To Watch Ikki Tousen? A Complete Watch Order Guide

Battles and dramas between high school students are a popular motif in anime, but when they are written with sexual overtones, we get an anime called Ikki Tousen.

Ikki Tousen successfully presents a narrative with a bit more sense for an anime that falls within the ecchi anime category.

Inspired by the 14th-century Chinese novel Romance of Three Kingdoms, this anime tells the story of a high school girl who loves to fight and strives to be a great fighter, but fate has other plans for her.

This anime series made its debut in 2003 and has released four seasons along with three specials and three OVAs. 

For an anime categorized under ecchi, Ikki Tousen packs a hefty punch with fight scenes and uncensored fan service, delivering to the complete amusement of the adult teenage fans and a plot written and adapted brilliantly.

Let me show you how to watch this fun anime with a simple watch order guide.

1. Release Order

I. TV Series

  • Ikki Tousen (2003)
  • Ikki Tousen: Dragon Destiny (2007)
  • Ikki Tousen: Great Guardians (2008)
  • Ikki Tousen: Xtreme Xecutor (2010)


  • Shugaku Toshi Keppu-roku (2011)
  • Extravaganza Epoch (2014)
  • Western Wolves (2019)

III. Specials

  • Ikki Tousen: Dragon Destiny Special (2007)
  • Ikki Tousen: Great Guardians Special (2008)
  • Ikki Tousen: Xtreme Xecutor Special (2010)
Watch Ikki Tousen on:

2. Chronological Order 

  • Ikki Tousen 
  • Ikki Tousen: Dragon Destiny
  • Ikki Tousen: Great Guardians
  • Ikki Tousen: Xtreme Xecutor 
  • Shugaku Toshi Keppu-roku 
  • Extravaganza Epoch 
  • Western Wolves 

3. Where to watch Ikki Tousen with subtitles or dubbed?

Ikki Tousen – Trailer

Funimation is currently streaming the seasons of Ikki Tousen with both English subtitles and in dubbed versions.

Unfortunately, season 2 and the OVAs are currently unavailable on Funimation.

4. How much time will it take to complete Ikki Tousen?

It will take around 23 hours and 27 minutes to watch all the installments of Ikki Tousen completely. It will be a whole day of binge-watching.

How To Watch Ikki Tousen? A Complete Watch Order Guide
Ikki Tousen | Source: Fandom

It includes the four seasons, three specials, and three OVAs

Let me give you a quick list of the runtime of each installment in this franchise –  

  • Ikki Tousen (2003) – 312 minutes
  • Ikki Tousen: Dragon Destiny (2007) – 288 minutes
  • Ikki Tousen: Great Guardians (2008)  – 288 minutes
  • Ikki Tousen: Xtreme Xecutor (2010) – 288 minutes
  • Shugaku Toshi Keppu-roku (2011) – 43 minutes
  • Extravaganza Epoch (2014) – 50 minutes
  • Western Wolves (2019) – 90 minutes
  • Ikki Tousen: Dragon Destiny Special (2007) – 18 minutes
  • Ikki Tousen: Great Guardians Special (2008) – 12 minutes
  • Ikki Tousen: Xtreme Xecutor Special (2010) – 12 minutes

5. Can you download and watch Ikki Tousen offline?

Funimation, one of the biggest anime entertainment companies, streams Ikki Tousen and subscribers can only download the show if they have a specific subscription plan.

Subscribers can download the show on iOS and Android devices if they have a  Premium Plus subscription ($7.99 per month) or the Premium Plus Ultra ($99.99 per year).

6. Conclusion

To enjoy Ikki Tousen, it does not matter if one chooses the release order or the chronological order. You will equally enjoy the anime in whatever way you watch it.

How To Watch Ikki Tousen? A Complete Watch Order Guide
Ikki Tousen | Source: Fandom

The specials are simply for fun and comedy. You can neglect it as they lack any plot connecting to the main series.

Ikki Tousen has many mixed reviews, with the majority of them being negative and calling the series silly. 

However, on the other hand, this series will be an ideal watch for you if you want to spend the time with some sleek teenage adultery and neat brawls.

7. About Ikki Tousen

Ikki Tousen, also known as Battle Vixens in North America, is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Yuji Shiozaki.

The manga was serialized in the seinen manga magazine Comic Gum from April 2000 to August 2015, and the first tankōbon was released in October 2000, with a total of 24 volumes available as of September 2015.

The story starts with Hakufu going to school being practically forced to be someone she is not, having to attend flower arranging class and failing miserably at it. She is then met with her first actual fighter, who she follows outside.

She is able to defeat the fighter quite easily, causing her mother to transfer her to Nanyo, where she meets a wide assortment of other fighters, both big and small. This in turn sparks the story of the young buxom heroine who wants to be the top ranked fighter.

Originally Written By Epic Dope

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores and/or online campaigns. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.


Leave a Reply

Aaryan Sharma

Aaryan Sharma

Meet our Tech Wiz – he’s a true-blooded otaku and an encyclopedia of all things tech! Foodie to the hilt and the clandestine king of online food ordering! There is No Veg burger he doesn’t have an opinion on!

Connect with me:

[email protected]