‘Star Wars’ Announces 4 New ‘High Republic’ Books

Star Wars has announced four new books for their High Republic line, to start hitting shelves this summer.

The first book, Light of the Jedi by Charles Soule, was published on January 5, 2021, and went on to become a New York Times Best Seller. The book steered the way to a multi-part story that spanned multiple books and comics. The High Republic was first announced in 2019.

Star Wars Announces 4 New High Republic Books
Star Wars: The Rising Storm

According to Slashfilm, new facts about the release dates on the next tide of Star Wars novels set during the High Republic have been revealed. Dubbed Wave II, the flagship novel, The Rising Storm by Cavan Scott, is a sequel to Light of the Jedi and Race to Crashpoint Tower, a middle-grade novel by Daniel José Older and artist Petur Antonsson, will hit shelves on June 29, 2021. Out of the Shadows by Justina Ireland, a young-adult novel, will be released on July 22. Showdown at the Fair, an 8×8 storybook by George Mann (which focuses on the Wookiee Jedi Burryaga Agaburry) will hit bookstores on October 5, 2021.

The next tide of stories will be carving off the previous line. The books will start to feature various characters from other books. Out of the Shadows is anticipated to be a crossover story between the character, Vernestra Rwoh, (who was introduced in Justina Ireland’s book, Test of Courage), and Reath Silas (from the novel Into the Dark).

Since the upcoming series, The Acolyte, will take place at the end of The High Republic Era, there is a good chance that characters or storylines introduced in these stories will also be seen in that story.

Star Wars Announces 4 New High Republic Books
Star Wars: The Bad Batch

Presently, the only Star Wars productions set to air in 2021 are Star Wars: The Bad Batch, on May 4, and The Book of Boba Fett, in December 2021. Hence, The High Republic makes up a majority of the Star Wars material for fans to enjoy this year.

About Star Wars

Star Wars is an American epic space opera media franchise created by George Lucas, which began with the 1977 film Star Wars: A New Hope and quickly became a worldwide pop-culture phenomenon.

It has three trilogies at its core – Original, Prequel, and Sequel, spread across five decades and interspersed with at least a dozen spin-off series and films.

Created by George Lucas and his Lucasfilm, the franchise is currently under the Disney umbrella. All the Star Wars films and shows are now available to binge on Disney+ streaming service.

Epic Dope Staff

Epic Dope Staff

Our talented team of Freelance writers - Always on the lookout - pour their energies into a wide range of topics bringing to our audience what they crave - fun up-to-date news, reviews, fan theories and much much more.


Leave a Reply