Complete Skippable Filler Guide to Enjoy Black Butler

It isn’t always that the filler arcs are so brilliantly made that the fans get confused whether they are canon or not.

Black Butler is a dark fantasy that revolves around the death and supernatural surrounding demons and grim reapers. But in the fillers, we also get to know about fallen angels and their vices.

Black Butler has aired three seasons, with a total of 46 episodes. It has a high filler percentage of 63%, with 29 reported fillers.

The fillers are interesting and follow a ‘different timeline’ than the one in the manga.

With an epic battle between demons and angels and a short cameo by Ronald, who will later appear in Season 3, the entire arc doesn’t necessarily give the ‘filler’ feel to the viewers.

Black Butler: Season 1 - Official Trailer

With an explosive, sad, and conclusive end in Season 2, the start of Season 3 surprises many.

This is why you should use this guide to skim through the fillers and confirm whether they are worth watching or not.

1. Quick List

  • Canon: 2-6, 13, 14, 15, 38-46
  • Fillers: 1, 7-12, 16-24, 25-36, 37
Episode NumberTitleAir DateWhere to Watch
1His Butler, Able2008-10-02Funimation
7His Butler, Merrymaking2008-11-14Funimation
8His Butler, Training2008-11-21Funimation
9His Butler, Phantom Image2008-11-28Funimation
10His Butler, on Ice2008-12-05Funimation
11His Butler, However You Please2008-12-12Funimation
12His Butler, Forlorn2008-12-19Funimation
16His Butler, in an Isolated Castle2009-01-30Funimation
17His Butler, Offering2009-02-06Funimation
18His Butler, Transmitted2009-02-13Funimation
19His Butler, Imprisoned2009-02-20Funimation
20His Butler, Escaping2009-02-27Funimation
21His Butler, Engaging Servants2009-03-06Funimation
22His Butler, Dissolution2009-03-13Funimation
23His Butler, Up in Flames2009-03-20Funimation
24His Butler, Fluent2009-03-27Funimation
25Clawed Butler2010-07-02Funimation
26Solo Butler2010-07-09Funimation
27Wench Butler2010-07-16Funimation
28Terrorist Butler2010-07-23Funimation
29Beacon Butler2010-07-30Funimation
30Bedewed Butler2010-08-06Funimation
31Deathly Butler2010-08-13Funimation
32Divulging Butler2010-08-20Funimation
33Hollow Butler2010-08-27Funimation
34Zero Butler2010-09-03Funimation
35Crossroads Butler2010-09-10Funimation
36Black Butler2010-09-17Funimation
37Book of Circus: His Butler, Presenting2014-07-11Funimation

2. Which Fillers Can You Skip Altogether?

Black Butler has a clever, chill-inducing plot put in the shadow, at the end, due to the overpowering filler arc.

Black Butler Filler List
Black Buttler | Source: IMDB

Nevertheless, if you are completely uninterested in the happenings of the manga, you are welcome to enjoy all the fillers.

However, to the fans who want to enjoy the canon experience, you are recommended to skip the following:

  • All the fillers from episode 16 to 36 (i.e., all the fillers from episode 16-24 of Season 1 and entire Season 2)

3. About Black Butler

Black Butler anime is based on a manga of the same name, written and illustrated by Yana Toboso.

Black Butler is a story about Ciel Phantomhive, a thirteen-year-old boy, who has taken up the mantle of the head of the Phantomhive household and thus became the Queen’s Watchdog.

He is tasked with taking care of the troublesome issues that take place behind the Queen’s back.

He is contracted with Sebastian, a demon in disguise of a butler, who would be allowed to consume Ciel’s soul in exchange for his services.


Leave a Reply