Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Manga News

Will Demon Slayer Win Another Award? – Nominations For 25th Tezuka Osamu Prize

Demon Slayer has been bagging every award possible, and now you must be wondering what’s next to line up on this franchise’s winning streak?

Continue scrolling to keep reading Click the button below to start this article in quick view.

Is there even an award left for Tanjiro and Nezuko to grab? Guess what, there totally is!

Demon Slayer, Jujutsu Kaisen, and 7 other manga have been nominated for the 25th Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize.

Announcement of 9 finalists for the 25th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Award and Manga Award

Twitter Translation, English Translate

This award is a commemoration to Tezuka Osamu, a pioneer of the manga culture in Japan. Following Osamu, mangaka known for works that have recently influenced that culture are nominated to win this award.

The 9 nominated manga are:

  • Demon Slayer- Kimetsu no Yaiba by Koyoharu Gotouge
  • Jujutsu Kaisen by Gege Akutami
  • The Promised Neverland by Kaiu Shirai and Posuka Demizu 
  • I Want to Hold Aono-kun so Badly I Could Die by Umi Shiina
  • Children with Brains and Courage (Kashikokute Yūki Aru Kodomo) by Miki Yamamoto
  • Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End by Kanehito Yamada
  • A Rose Born in Shulaba: The Work Log of a ’70s Shōjo Manga Assistant by Nami Saso
  • Peleliu: Guernica of Paradise by Kazuyoshi Takeda
  • Land by Kazumi Yamashita

The judging committee for 2021’s Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize comprises of prominent mangaka like Osamu Akimoto, Machiko Satonaka, and Taro Yabe, authors like Kazuki Sakuraba and many more.

The selection criteria is based on recommendations from bookstore employees and specialists and the manga had to have a compiled volume published in 2020 as well.

Will Demon Slayer Win Another Award? - Nominations for 25th Tezuka Osamu Prize
Demon Slayer | Source: Viz Media

Among the 8 manga nominated last year, Nyx no Lantern by Kan Takahama took home the first prize. The panel will not only decide the first prize winner but also decide on the winner of New Work, Short Work Awards etc.

All the winners names will announced in late April via newspapers.

By the rate of how Demon Slayer and Jujutsu Kaisen has been winning awards, one of these two could easily win the Tezuka Osamu one as well.

But, you never know, The Promised Neverland is definitely an underdog you’d never expect to win, who might just snatch this award.

About Demon Slayer

Created initially by Koyoharu Gotoge, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba first debuted in Shueisha’s Weekly Shonen Jump in February 2016.

It is a story revolving around the life of Tanjiro Kamado, whose family was slaughtered ruthlessly by Demons.

Sworn to take revenge and to get his sister, who is turning into a demon, cured, Tanjiro sets out. Into the demon-riddled world, to help others befalling the same fate he had just been through.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores and/or online campaigns. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.


Leave a Reply

Epic Dope Staff

Epic Dope Staff

Our talented team of Freelance writers - Always on the lookout - pour their energies into a wide range of topics bringing to our audience what they crave - fun up-to-date news, reviews, fan theories and much much more.