The definitive guide to play Assassin’s Creed in order – Easy Guide

Introducing yourself to the legendary action-adventure franchise, Assassin’s Creed, can be overwhelming as the series spans over 13 games. With Assassin’s Creed Mirage releasing this year, several players might want to refresh their memory of the series’ plot by going through the entire franchise by themselves.

Needless to say, the order of every Assassin’s Creed game can turn out to be might confusing, even if you’re acquainted with the series. However, the gameplay order becomes all the more troublesome for players knocking on the Brotherhood’s door for the first time.

The best order to play the Assassin’s Creed series is the Release order. It enables players to taste the rapid increase in the series’ in-game physics, action sequences, and graphics. 

The Release order of the Assassin’s Creed series is as follows:

  1. Assassin’s Creed (2007)
  2. Assassin’s Creed II (2009)
  3. Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood (2010)
  4. Assassin’s Creed: Revelations (2011)
  5. Assassin’s Creed III / Liberation (2012)
  6. Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag / Freedom Cry (2013)
  7. Assassin’s Creed Rogue (2014)
  8. Assassin’s Creed Unity (2014)
  9. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate (2015)
  10. Assassin’s Creed Origins (2017)
  11. Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (2018)
  12. Assassin’s Creed Valhalla (2020)
  13. Assassin’s Creed Mirage (2023)

Interestingly, it is not the only way to play through the AC series; you can also play these games in chronological order, making it slightly easier for you to understand the complicated metaplot of the series.

1. The Chronological Order to Play the Assassin’s Creed Series

The Chronological order to play the Assassin’s Creed series is as follows:

  1. Assassin’s Creed Odyssey – 431 BC to 422 BC – Ancient Greece
  2. Assassin’s Creed Origins – 49 BC to 44 BC – Ancient Egypt
  3. Assassin’s Creed Mirage – 861 to TBA – Baghdad
  4. Assassin’s Creed Valhalla – 872 to 878 – England and Norway
  5. Assassin’s Creed – 1191 – Holy Land (Acre, Damascus, Jerusalem)
  6. Assassin’s Creed II – 1476 to 1499 – Italy
  7. Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood – 1499 to 1507 – Italy
  8. Assassin’s Creed: Revelations – 1511 to 1512 – Constantinople
  9. Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag – 1715 to 1722 – Caribbean Islands
  10. Assassin’s Creed Rogue – 1752 to 1760 – American Northeast
  11. Assassin’s Creed III – 1754 to 1783 – Colonial America
  12. Assassins Creed Unity – 1789 to 1794 – France
  13. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate – 1868 – Victorian London

It is, however, not recommended to play the series in chronological order because after you have played through the latest games in the franchise, like Odyssey and Valhalla, older games of the series released over 10-15 years ago will feel mundane and lacking in various gameplay aspects.

2. Which Assassin’s Creed game should you play first?

Assassin’s Creed (2007), the first game in the series, should be played first. It will allow you to learn the basics about the franchise and realize its origin. Its plot and gameplay mechanics are still unique and fun for beginners.

After you are done with the original, you can dive straight into the Ezio trilogy comprising AC II, Brotherhood, and Revelations. The Ezio trilogy is considered to be the best by many fans.

3. In what order should you play the Ezio trilogy?

The best way to experience the Ezio trilogy is to play it in the release order, which is also the chronological order:

  1. Assassin’s Creed II, 
  2. Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, and 
  3. Assassin’s Creed Revelations.

Ezio’s life follows a typical linear path from Assassin’s Creed II to AC Revelations. Moreover, Ezio has a highly complex Assassin’s Creed history that begins with the undeserving murder of his family. So, in the absence of that primary drive for revenge, AC Brotherhood and AC Revelations lose a major chunk of their meaning.

4. Can you play Assassin’s Creed Valhalla before Assassin’s Creed Odyssey and Origins?

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla can be played before Origins and Odyssey as these games have standalone storylines.  Although there are references to Assassin’s Creed Odyssey and Origins in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, players don’t need to be acquainted with the former to play the latter.

But, like most Assassin’s Creed games, there’s a significant part of the game that emphasizes the modern-day protagonist, Layla Hassan, who has been reliving the lives of past assassins via the Animus. Hence, if you’re curious about how the various ancient cultures in the overarching story of the Assassin’s Creed franchise affect people’s lives in the modern world, you should acquaint yourself with AC Odyssey and AC Origins before moving on to AC Valhalla.

5. Are all the Assassin’s Creed games connected?

The Assassin’s Creed games are connected to the same metaplot. But most of them can be played without playing the rest. However, an exception to this rule is the Ezio trilogy, as it’s essentially a single game divided into three parts.

Furthermore, Assassin’s Creed Black Flag marked the beginning of a new arc in the metaplot. So, you can play every game from thereon without worrying about the context of the previous.

6. Which Assassins Creed has the best story?

Assassin’s Creed Black Flag has the best story among all the Assassin’s Creed games. The game follows the journey of Edward Kenway, a greedy pirate, who gets dragged into the age-long conflict between the Templars and the Assassins.

Apart from the unique Caribbean setting and fun naval combat gameplay, the story of Black Flag has played a massive role in its success. Its beautiful storytelling and vivid characters do a great job of emotionally captivating the players.

As the Assasssin’s Creed community puts it, “It is the story of a man who only needed money, but found himself.”

7. Which Assassin’s Creed is the hardest?

Assassin’s Creed Unity is the hardest game in the series because of its clunky controls and buggy gameplay that gives the enemies an advantage over you. Basic actions like; combat, assassinations, and infiltration take tremendous effort to execute properly in unity.

Apart from the bad side, Assassin’s Creed Unity has the best stealth mechanics among all the Assassin’s Creed games.

Contrarily, Assassin’s Creed II is considered the easiest Assassin’s Creed game due to its straightforward gameplay mechanics similar to the original title.

Assassin’s Creed II should be a cakewalk for anyone who is well-versed in the basic controls and gameplay of the Assassin’s Creed universe.

8. What is the shortest game in Assassin’s Creed?

Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation is the shortest Assassin’s Creed title. It takes only 8 hours to complete the main storyline of AC III. A completionist (100%) run of the same takes about 16 hours.

Contrarily, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla is the longest title in the Assassin’s Creed series. It takes around whopping 60 hours to complete the main storyline of the game while a completionist run takes 140+ hours.

7. About Assassin’s Creed

Assassin’s Creed is the first instalment in the classic Assassin’s Creed franchise. It introduced one of the most influential characters in the series, Altair, who embarks on a quest to regain his honor after a failed mission. 

The game was developed and published by Ubisoft. It is considered a classic, having been a memorable part of everyone’s childhoods. Even then, it featured some of the finest work in graphics,  action sequences, and storyline. 

Aaryan Sharma

Aaryan Sharma

Meet our Tech Wiz – he’s a true-blooded otaku and an encyclopedia of all things tech! Foodie to the hilt and the clandestine king of online food ordering! There is No Veg burger he doesn’t have an opinion on!


Leave a Reply